Fast games

How to watch NASA’s SpaceX Crew-3 astronaut launch events this week

SpaceX’s next Crew Dragon launch for NASA is scheduled for the spooky Halloween date (October 31) to transport four new astronauts to the International Space Station and you can follow the mission’s countdown and launch live in line.

A EspaceX The Falcon 9 rocket will launch the mission, called Crew-3, no earlier than 2:21 a.m. EDT (0621 GMT) in the wee hours of Halloween Sunday from Launch Complex 39A at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida. Astronauts are expected to dock with the space station on Monday (November 1) at 12:10 a.m. EDT (4:10 GMT).

All these events are subject to change for meteorological or technical reasons. But you can watch them all here and on the Space.com homepage, courtesy of NASA TV and SpaceX. When launching and docking takes place, it should also be broadcast on NASA television, the NASA application, the agency’s website, Youtube and social media channels. We’ll also be streaming the launch live here on Space.com.

Live updates: Follow the launch of SpaceX’s Astronaut Crew-3 for NASA

Flight Crew-3 will launch NASA astronauts Raja Chari (mission commander), Tom Marshburn (pilot) and Kayla Barron (mission specialist) as well as European Space Agency (ESA) astronaut Matthias Maurer. They are expected to stay in orbit for six months. Marshburn is a veteran astronaut who has flown to the space station twice. The other three astronauts are all beginners on their first space flight.

You can virtually “attend” the launch by register here with NASA, or join a Facebook event. NASA also has a new Virtual Launch Passport available for download and printing, and will be releasing a virtual guest stamp for the event. You can sign up for it on Eventbrite. If you are a teacher, you can find a series of NASA student and family activities here.

Below is a schedule of launch events that NASA will be releasing from this NASA statement.

Astronauts on NASA’s SpaceX Crew-3 mission pose for a portrait in their spacesuits during a training session. From left to right: NASA astronauts Kayla Barron, Raja Chari and Thomas Marshburn, and ESA (European Space Agency) astronaut Matthias Maurer. (Image credit: SpaceX)

Monday, October 25

7:00 p.m. EDT / 2300 GMT (approximately) – Flight Readiness Review (FRR) media teleconference at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center, no earlier than one hour after FRR completion. Participants include:

  • Kathryn Lueders, Associate Administrator, Space Operations Mission Directorate, NASA Headquarters;
  • Steve Stich, director of the NASA Commercial Crew Program, Kennedy; Joel Montalbano, Director, International Space Station, NASA Johnson Space Center;
  • Holly Ridings, Chief Flight Director, Flight Operations Branch, Johnson; William Gerstenmaier, vice president, Build and Flight Reliability, SpaceX;
  • Frank de Winne, Program Manager, International Space Station, ESA;
  • Junichi Sakai, Director, International Space Station, JAXA.

Tuesday October 26

1:30 p.m. EDT / 1750 GMT (approximately) – Media event on the arrival of the crew at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center.

  • Bob Cabana, Associate Administrator of NASA;
  • Janet Petro, director of NASA’s Kennedy Space Center;
  • Frank de Winne, Program Manager, International Space Station, ESA;
  • NASA astronaut Raja Chari; NASA astronaut Tom Marshburn;
  • NASA astronaut Kayla Barron;
  • ESA astronaut Matthias Maurer.

Wednesday October 27

8 a.m. EDT / 12 p.m. GMT – Media engagement of the virtual crew at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center with Crew-3 astronauts:

  • NASA astronaut Raja Chari;
  • NASA astronaut Tom Marshburn;
  • NASA astronaut Kayla Barron;
  • ESA astronaut Matthias Maurer.

Thursday October 28

1:00 p.m. EDT / 5:00 p.m. GMT – Teleconference with science media to discuss the investigations the Crew-3 crew will support during their experiments. Here is the list of expected attendees and NASA descriptions of what they will be discussing.

  • David Brady, associate scientist in the International Space Station program at NASA’s Johnson Space Center. It will provide an introduction to the research and technology aboard the Crew Dragon spacecraft .;
  • Dr. Yun-Xing Wang, Principal Investigator at the National Cancer Institute Structural Biophysics Laboratory, and Dr. Jason R. Stagno, Research Scientist at the National Cancer Institute Structural Biophysics Laboratory. Wang and Stagno will discuss the Uniform Protein Crystal Growth experiment which aims to grow near perfect microcrystals in microgravity, which will be immediately analyzed by a powerful atomic imager upon their return to Earth alongside the Crew-2 astronauts;
  • Dr. Grace Douglas, lead scientist in NASA’s Advanced Food Technology Research Effort, who will discuss the food physiology experiment. This investigation studies the impacts of an improved diet for spaceflight on the health of astronauts;
  • Dr. Hector Guiterrez, professor of mechanical and aerospace engineering at the Florida Institute of Technology, who will discuss the Smartphone Video Guidance Sensor (SVGS) that will test a set of LED beacons that Astrobee free-flight robots will interact with during formation flight maneuvers;
  • A representative (not yet named) of the Standard Measurements Survey, which collects a core set of measurements related to many risks of manned spaceflight by astronauts before, during and after long-duration missions.

Friday October 29

12 p.m. EDT / 4 p.m. GMT – NASA Administrator press briefing on NASA TV with the following participants:

  • Bill Nelson, administrator of NASA;
  • Pam Melroy, NASA deputy administrator;
  • Bob Cabana, Associate Administrator of NASA;
  • Kathryn Lueders, Associate Administrator, Space Operations Mission Directorate, NASA Headquarters;
  • Janet Petro, director of NASA’s Kennedy Space Center;
  • Woody Hoburg, NASA astronaut.

10 p.m. EDT / 2 a.m. GMT Saturday, October 30 – Pre-launch press conference at NASA’s Kennedy Space Center (timing may change as it is set no earlier than one hour after the completion of the launch readiness exam) with the following participants:

  • Steve Stich, Director, Commercial Crew Program, Kennedy Space Center, NASA;
  • Joel Montalbano, Director, International Space Station, NASA Johnson Space Center;
  • Jennifer Buchli, Deputy Chief Scientist, International Space Station Program, Johnson;
  • Holly Ridings, Chief Flight Director, Flight Operations Branch, Johnson;
  • Sarah Walker, Director, Dragon Mission Management, SpaceX;
  • Josef Aschbacher, Managing Director, ESA;
  • William Ulrich, launch weather officer, 45th Weather Squadron, United States Space Force.

Saturday October 30

10:00 p.m. EDT / 1400 GMT – Coverage of the NASA Television launch begins upon launch.

Sunday October 31

02:21 am EDT / 0621 GMT – To throw. The NASA broadcast will continue through docking, arrival and the welcome ceremony. There will be no post-launch press conference, but NASA management (names have not yet been released) will participate in the live broadcast.

Monday November 1

12:10 a.m. EDT / 0410 GMT – Mooring

1:50 am EDT / 5:50 am GMT – Hatch opening

02:20 / 06:20 GMT – Welcome ceremony

Space.com will provide full coverage of SpaceX’s Crew-3 launch to the International Space Station. Check out our live updates page for more details on the mission throughout the week.

Follow Elizabeth Howell on Twitter @howellspace. Follow us on Twitter @Spacedotcom and on Facebook.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *